Tell Me A Story

BRIEF

A story is described as a narrative, either true or fictitious, designed to interest, amuse or instruct the reader or listener.

In this project you are asked to produce a linear narrative that tells a ‘story’, which has a beginning, middle and end – in that order.

Whilst previous projects have asked you to choose only 3 images – from 6 taken – in this mini project you have the choice to once again use a minimum of 3 images but if you wish you can use up to a maximum of six images to tell your story.

Use the skills that you have developed in the first two exercises to think of how you can creatively keep the viewer interested in your story. Once again interesting angles can aid you but also think about.

The technical session, in class, will help you begin to start thinking about how to construct and sequence your story. You will then be asked to use this information in the production of your project.

Once again you are free to use a camera format and approach suitable to your desired outcomes but think carefully about the story you want to tell and what images images you will need to take – and the order in which you will need to present them in – for the viewer to be able to make sense of it.

 

MY RESPONSE

Getting out of bed black and white

Bathroom black and white

Downstairs black and white

Breakfast black and white

Leaving

 

REFLECTION

In these images I wanted to create a sense of my usual morning when I get up and go out to university, I always have the same routine so I wanted to make a set of images that documented it as these different moments are a pivotal part of my morning. The images are in black and white, to reflect that there is no grey area when it comes to my actions in the morning, everything happens in the same order each morning. I get up, I shower, I go downstairs and have my breakfast, I sit in the same seat each morning, then I get dressed and go out of the house.

When taking these images, I had a loose plan about what I wanted to achieve visually; the starting and finishing images had to look interesting and somewhat dramatic, whereas the inner images could be more abstract or have different angles and composition. Once I had taken a few images, it was clear that I should have sequencing in mind when actually producing the images, I wanted to come in closer on some of the images, but not have too many close-up images one after the other as this might make the series look a bit imbalanced. I wanted to the images to look like they definitely belonged in that order, because my routine rarely change. This was another contributing reason why I chose to make the images black and white, as I wanted all the tones and colours to look the same and having them in black and white seemed to create a sense of intimacy.

Leave a Reply

