Tutorials with Caroline Malloy

TUTORIAL ONE

Having not had any contact time with Caroline in the first module of third year, this initial tutorial was a good chance to reconnect. We started by discussing what my plans might be after university, talking about theory based MA courses as this nature of course would probably suit me better. I enjoy reading, researching and writing and this is a process I could extend with a theory-based MA. Universities that offer this type of course are Leicester and De Montford and Southbank University offer a digital photography course.

In relation to my Final Major Project I gave Caroline my proposal and she gave me the following avenues to consider:

  •  The Disruptive Media Learning Lab – Jonathan Worth
  • Janaka – did a symposium
  • Photographer’s gallery talk – about the Digital Wall run by Katrina Sluice
  • Jonathan Shaw’s book New Fotoscapes contains a chapter from Katrina Slucie
  • In terms of considering web design, the IMES are the support for overseas students, MA Computer Science student could be a collaborative partner (contact Chris Knight)
  • Gary Hall, has associations with the DMLL
  • Open Education: Critical Condition
  • Goldsmiths University – there is a department of Digital Media that looks at the Future of Digital Photography – looking at facial recognition software and photos that indicate personality or appearance
  • Research Sarah Kember, Professor of New Tech and Communications, read her publications (Life After New Media)
  • TASK – explore and research, email Jonathan Shaw and Chris Knight

In response to this tutorial I created draft emails to both Jonathan Shaw and the relevant department for the IMES so that I could email them when I was ready. I took Jonathan Shaw’s book ‘New Fotoscapes’ out of the library to read his section before contacting him for a meeting and for further research in relation to Katrina Sluice.

I felt extremely positive after this tutorial about proceeding with research as I feel like this tutorial and my previous tutorial with Anthony has confirmed the validity of my concept. I am going to go away and research the MA courses specified as I am very interested in an MA as a possible next step after university, a research avenue that relates to the upcoming module 354mc – Professional Practice Portfolio.

 

TUTORIAL TWO

My last tutorial at university was with Caroline and I wanted to make sure that my project proposal was reading well and that my presentation strategy for the work was appropriate and still acceptable for the gallery space. I didn’t think I needed much from Caroline but I entered into a discussion with her about my captions for the degree show and whether or not I should put my artist statement up on the wall as well. In the tutorial time I also showed Caroline my proposal to see whether I was writing it in the right tone and how the quality of my writing was. She gave me a few points to reconsider when making another draft which I took on board to be able to progress. Whilst reading through my tutorial she also gave me some additional research avenues which would supplement and strengthen the work I had already done, for example she suggested I looked at some artist who predated the ones I had picked out. The notes can be seen below:

  • Doug Rickard, working with appropriated material (predates Mishka Henner)
  • Nancy Berson, challenging notions of a portrait, her project ‘Mankind’
  • Reflective essay: think about where your project should be displayed next, for mine it would be the Photographer’s gallery on the Digital Wall curated by Katrina Sluis
  • Alfredo Jaar – appropriation of Time Magazine Covers
  • Proposal: work strengthening the proposal, where the are mostly strong reasoning there are a few weaker statements that could be interpreted as hearsay

 

Reflection:

It had been mentioned previously in a degree meeting that the artist statements were generally not recommended as it would be slightly too didactic and it would be good for the viewer to question what they were viewing, the catalogue we are producing would also feature the artist statement so people could read about the work there if they wanted to know more. In addition to this my artist statement can also be read on the website, I will be writing a blog post detailing the process behind my work and creating a piece on my website which will also feature the work and the concept which inspired it. Following this discussion I attempted and succeeded in making a new order for the full captions, however it did come at an extra cost. I also followed up the additional research ideas which really benefitted the conceptual reasoning behind my project and gave me ideas to consider in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

